Research in Paediatric Neurology

Research has always been an important part of paediatric neurology in Australia and New Zealand. Australian and New Zealand paediatric neurologists have made many important contributions to the field, including descriptions of new disorders, contributions to development of new treatments for epilepsy syndromes and nerve and muscle disorders of childhood, and identification of genes involved in childhood seizure disorders, muscular dystrophies, neuropathies and movement disorders. Almost all paediatric neurologists in Australia and New Zealand belong to the ANZCNS. Many are actively involved in clinical or laboratory research in addition to their clinical practice in the management of neurological illnesses.

Donations to the ANZCNS Research Fund will be used to assist research into specific aspects of paediatric neurology and to further collaborative research efforts within Australia. Directed donations can be given to advance clinical or laboratory research in subspeciality areas of paediatric neurology.

Enquiries regarding donations to the ANZCNS Research Fund should be directed to the Donations Office.


Date: September 22nd, 2020
Location: Online – NSW/VIC/ACT/TAS 11am-2pm; QLD/SA 10.30am-1.30pm, WA 9am-12MD, Auckland 1pm-4pm;
Abstract Submission opens: NOW OPEN
Last date for abstract submission: midnight on Friday, 17th July 2020

Acceptance notification via email by Friday 31st July
All trainees are encouraged to present, and make themselves eligible for the fantastic prizes on offer, including fellowships for all abstracts accepted for oral presentation.
Please use the following link to register for the forum and submit your abstract:

Eligibility Criteria

  • Registered with the RACP as a Neurology Advanced trainee and in the 1st-3rd year of Neurology training, OR
  • Currently enrolled full-time or part-time in a PhD and not holding a staff specialist position


  • 1st Prize: Dr Ian Hopkins Memorial Prize for best presentation – $1000
  • 2nd Prize: $750
  • 3rd Prize: $500
  • $300 prizes for all other accepted presentations

Scientific Committee

Anne Bye (SCH), Kerrie-Anne Chen (Adelaide), Michael Fahey (Monash), Mark Mackay (RCH), Shekeeb Mohammad (CHW), Ubaid Shah (Brisbane), Cia Sharpe (NZ), Jonathon Silberstein (Perth)