Kate Sinclair Memorial Scholarship

The ANZCNS offers an annual scholarship of A$25,000 for one year for a single successful applicant, to provide research support. This scholarship is dedicated to the memory of Dr Kate Sinclair, paediatric neurologist from Queensland, who was a tireless advocate for the best outcome for patients and families with neurological illness, paediatric neurology trainees, and for clinicians in her department and within the public hospital system.

The vision of the scholarship is to support an ANZCNS ordinary or trainee member with the potential for a clinical research career to develop their research and as a bridge to achieve further funding. The scholarship may be used for a diverse range of funding including, but not limited to, support time for applicants, to employ a Research Assistant or for the purchase of specific equipment to enable research.

For any application, there must be an agreement with the department for guaranteed quarantined time for research.

Preference will be given to Early Career Researchers who are close to submitting their PhD or in their first three years post PhD, though individuals doing their PhD full-time without other sources of funding are also eligible to apply.

The application should include:

  • A 1-page research track record including publications, and
  • A 2-page summary of strategic vision for the year including feasibility, and
  • A statement of how the scholarship will help the candidate’s future research vision
  • A separate clear letter of support from the Head of Department, with a promise of quarantined time
  • A single referee endorsement
The submission details for the scholarship are usually advertised in May-June via the ANZCNS member newsletter.

The successful candidate will be expected to attend the ANZCNS ASM to receive their scholarship and the following year’s ANZCNS ASM to provide an update on their research.

Please contact admin@anzcns.org.au for further information.

Previous Scholarship Recipients


Dr Emma MacDonald-Laurs (Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne)


Dr Hannah Jones (Starship Children’s Hospital, Auckland)
Dr Didu (Sandi) Kariyawasam (Sydney, Children’s Hospital, Sydney)